DevBlog—Mar 28, 2017

After last week’s slump, I really kicked it into high gear.

That said, there’ll be no new version for this week; not enough stuff connected to what’s already published to warrant a re-publish.

PROLOGUE

  • I’d been having a problem with Jae-Soon (the decker) turning to face the character for the dialogue, when, being jacked in, he should probably remain still. Turns out, after a bunch of fretting, there’s a check box that says “Turn to face character” when you set a character to have a dialogue interaction. I knew it was there. I thought it was unchecked. Now it is unchecked. So that’s fixed.

VITACORP

  • Added Matrix nodes with respective triggers for Vitacorp. This is a test-run of a larger concept I want to use throughout SR:New Orleans. The concept is largely translated from the game Hacknet_. Of course, being in SR:R’s system means the full concept can’t be ported over (plz don’t sue me, Surprise Attack). The short version is that the player chooses to unlock different Ports through various means (using HK’s Matrix rather than a straight interface as in Hacknet_), and when the threshold of Ports unlocked has been met, they gain admin access and all of the things that normally go with it.

After seeing a lot of feedback on HK Matrix design, I wanted to go with something that would let Deckers be able to specialize in different areas and choose how they break into the respective system. With SR:NOLA, if a player never wants to dodge Watcher IC, for example, they don’t have to.

  • As the PC and crew are on the heels of another shadowrunner team, Vitacorp’s Matrix defenses have already been compromised, meaning there’s an in-game reason for this run’s challenge to be easier than later ones, giving players a sort of “trial run” to see how it’ll go. In fact, in the current build, with ESP Control 1 (which their NPC Decker has), they don’t even have to do any Matrix combat.
  • The ability to vary available ports and corresponding nodes that comes with it actually allows me or other designers to create sub-puzzles for the Matrix, which means this concept actually serves as a framework for myself or others in later runs. This initial setup is a ton of work, but the payoff will be that a lot of these triggers/functions can be copy-pasted over for later runs.
  • Added a 4-drone combat encounter in the turbine room, and scattered/fixed props in the room for cover. It’s a relatively easy encounter, and necessary to point out that Kate has the Stunbolt spell for an optional vignette later. Pop Kate on a ley line and watch her go to town.
  • Added a 4-NPC merc encounter at the lab elevator. This one’s a bit more difficult, and may need some tweaking depending on what my playtesters find. I might at least add a dragon line or summoning point because right now my mage-y folks aren’t seeing a lot of love in that room.
  • Finished up the scene’s opening dialogue between Kate, Ben (see below), and the PC, adding a boolean option for some dialogue shifts throughout the scene depending on how warmly the player receives the tagalongs.
  • Added a confrontation scene between the crew and a pair of unfortunate businessmen, one of whom being a jumpy elf with a gun. This is one rat’s nest of a conversation tree with several different variations on outcome, including getting the gun, not getting the gun, knocking out the elf, killing both the businessmen, talking them down, and so on. Some of the animations still need work.
  • General prop additions to existing rooms. Too many to effectively list.
  • Added some payroll-security in a side lounge. And man do they have some fun dialogue.
  • Added a wounded NPC for interrogation purposes. She has the alternative method to grabbing the Manager’s ID for folks who have an allergic reaction to all things Matrix, though she is placed such that actually getting the item before it’s necessary is kind of difficult.

Vitacorp now looks like an actual scene. And it ain’t even done yet. I always kind of dreaded looking at my scenes and comparing them to HBS scenes because they feel so bare-bones; so many fewer interactable props, so many fewer regions, but now I’m looking at my first actual run and it feels right. I’ve got Matrix, I’ve got vignettes, I’ve got dialogue (and it flows!). It’s just a real confidence booster to look at this stuff and think, “Hell yeah. Now we’re cookin’ with gas.”

Meet Ben Jameson, aka “Boot”

Ben’s the crew decker for SR: New Orleans. Personality-wise, he’s Kate’s foil: where she is an impulsive spitfire, he’s the guy who just wants to go home (or rather, to the bar) and “wait for this all to blow over.” He’s Kate’s Matrix/camera tech for her online journalism, and also her friend.

In combat, Ben’s a crack shot with the pistol, a weapon he favors because of its concealability, and a decent medic, which places him in a funky middle ground between Monika, Glory, and Blitz. A PC decker will likely outshine him in damage, but if lacking their own Decking ability, Ben’s a fine addition for mid-range DPS and utility. Likely, when I get into building crew advancement, Ben’s tracks may go down either boosting his Decking on one track and healing/ranged abilities on the other.

I’m considering switching Boot over Assault Rifle, because that’s a very plain way to have him as hybrid-DPS. That way, if the player’s a Decker, they might still bring him along, or at least not feel bad for doing so, because AR’s are great even in the HK engine. It doesn’t feel as good story-wise, but hey, Monika was AR/decker, so it’s not like it’s out of the question. But she was an actual cyberpunk, whereas Ben is…not.

The other option is to give him Glory’s machine-pistol so he can pump out burst fire attacks, and later get some better abilities in that field. I like that idea better, but the AR is still on the table.

FUTURE PLANS

My goal (short term) is to finish up the Vitacorp run and the player home and make those available for playtesters by next Tuesday; after that, the rest goes into the hub before and after the Vitacorp run, and I should be happy with the amount of content enough to release Episode 1. I’ll just throw in some cheat options for playtesters to be able to move from scene to scene and at least get the framework established in the absence of a hub for now.

In order to get Vitacorp finished, mostly I need to design the final floor and decide how I actually want to end the scene, where I’ll introduce the final essential crew members. Other than that, the standoff vignette needs a bit of work with its animations, I spotted a few typos on my last test that I’ll want to correct, and I want to add one or two more conversation options for the player where right now there’s only a single track. With regard to the confrontation, I suspect what I’m going to have to do is assign a few variables and end the conversation mid-way to let some physical acting happen and re-pick the conversation up with variables to direct the flow. That’s just a bit larger a project and, I mean, if you look at all the stuff I did up there, you can see why I put it off for later. I’m very much a “get something down, fix/smooth it in later passes later” kind of worker now. And I like the results.

As far as the ending goes, I’m in a bit of a creative bind.

Right now, I’m trying to avoid a rescue situation. I hate the idea of the plucky heroes swooping in right on time. These are Shadowrunners we’re talking about, not damsels. I also don’t want to do the exact opposite, which would be something closer to Megaman X where you walk up to the room outside Vile, hear a bunch of combat in the next room over, and pop in…only in this case it’d be the Shadowrunners around a bunch of corpses, because that overshadows the PC with NPC coolness.

I need to make a creative decision, and I don’t know which way to go.

