Devblog—Feb 21, 2017

Last week, I talked a bit about thinking about the hub. So, I began building one.

The concept is fairly simple: a 3 “tier” superstructure which the player will bounce around and hit some further exterior sites like the railcar line that will take them to shadowruns, the bar that will serve as the safehouse, vendors, so on, and etcetera. So this week’s notes will be a little scarce, as most if not all of my efforts for the last 7 days have revolved around getting over my fear of exterior maps and working on this hub.

  • Built a “plaza” superstructure that serves an unknown function, but looks pretty. Still needs to be populated with ambient actors and other microstructure (vending machines, clutter, etc) but I like how it begins.
  • Built an “upper tier” area beginning that has a cool overlook. Will definitely use this for a dialogue at some point. It’s just too cool a view to not (though I have to change the fencing).
  • Built the rail car station. New Orleans is known for its streetcar lines (surely you’ve heard of the fictional “Streetcar Named Desire”). Hypothetically, in a cyberpunk future New Orleans, streetcars will be replaced by rail cars with larger capacity and faster function. As of right now, the rail car station is attached to an exterior map, but as work on that continues, that chunk may get relegated to a camera teleport, very similar to the HBS games; Subway ambience works better when it’s in a camera region, and going from exterior to interior almost always requires a transition to move smoothly.
  • Began work on the “street level” chunk of hub, which eventually will attach to the plaza, above. Shamelessly, I’m just stealing Berlin assets and rearranging them. However, the kickass thing I just did is make a facade. If you take a look at any pictures of New Orleans, you’ll see that buildings particularly in the French Quarter, but also in Treme and the Marigny, have these balconies held up by poles. I was able to achieve a similar effect in the Shadowrun editor.
  • Added Shadowrun Identity’s neon signs mod to the content pack’s dependencies, joining Geeked HK. This should allow me to absolutely overburden urban areas with sickening amounts of neon. I took a gander through the assets and have a few ideas about what to use, but haven’t directly implemented anything yet.

The big challenge theme of this week was dealing with sub z-level illusions.

As with everything in the Shadowrun: New Orleans build 0.x, a lot of what I’m doing is just experimenting. Doodling, basically, if such a thing exists in the Unity engine. And as always, I’m playing around with 3D effects and really pushing the system to its limits. Without the pressure of time, I can play around a lot more with some of these illusions, which means I uncover challenges and force myself to adapt.

In the Shadowrun editor, it’s technically y-level, but I come from Dwarf Fortress, so a horizontal plane will always be a “z-level” to me. I was using a sub-z-level wall asset from the Factory tileset, which can stack and make big, grand walls or pillars for illusions that go beneath the level that the actors are standing on. I used this in the original Rig concepts to make the big giant pillars that go down to sea level.

However, what I discovered is that these specific wall assets still function as walls on their footprint when it comes to breaking line of sight and blocking movement. In other words, while they looked like they were beneath the player or beneath the ground, they still stopped them from crossing bridges or seeing on the far side of them as though they were at the actor’s eye level.

As a result, I had to delete or move…basically all of them, and trade them out with Kowloon Walled City sub z-level assets, which do not break line of sight. This is a relatively minor and yet massively profound change. The KWC assets look like sides of buildings, sure. But they look like slums. And on the higher tiers, I don’t want it to look like slums, so I have to mask the assets with pipes and panels and other decor. Which is fine. I’m up to the challenge, but it is still a challenge for the time being, and it will eat time when the time comes to send the maps to “art”…which would also be me.

Let’s talk about plans for the future.

Obviously, this week is probably going to go into continuing work on the hub. My big dread fear is that my ambitions for once outstrip the capabilities of the engine, meaning I’ll try to build too much, too big, and push either the engine’s CPU or memory limits into the red. I mean, I want to add Rio’s hovel to this map, the bar I’ve been working on in the other screen. And considering the actors, dialogue, ambient actor patrol paths that I had set up in those locals, I’m just not sure it’s all possible, and I’ll probably have to make concessions somewhere at some point. I’m endeavoring to reuse assets wherever possible, but I fear as I begin to add actors that this will become a serious problem I’ll have to negotiate, and there just isn’t a rulebook to help me out.

I’ve at least got a checklist to work on. I know I need vendors with their own spaces, and I kind of have ideas for the ones I haven’t yet designed. So I have dreams and desires, which aren’t quite the same as a roadmap. But I’m committed to nonzero days, and that really helps.

