Devblog—7 Feb 2017

I added a character named Thibaut to the Hightower map, mostly to give me practice on creating secondary goals, working on the fine art of branching dialogue paths, how to open up a conversation to a branching Q&A session and what to do if at any point the player walks away and then wants to come back and ask questions again, and stuff like that.

I think I wound up making a lot more work for myself, as the entire dialogue path start to finish took roughly 6 hours. In an office environment, working 8-hour days, this might not be a problem. But if I’m only putting 1-2 hours into this project a day, that’s simply unacceptable.

Thibaut’s a fun character. He’s a cajun drone mechanic for the New Orleans Police Service, one of hopefully a few characters that will utilize the traditional N’awlins greeting of “Where y’at?” At one point, I thought people were pulling my leg and that New Orleanders didn’t really say that, until I wound up wandering the city one weird day with a concierge friend of mine and that’s precisely how he greeted others and was in turn greeted by them.

Fun fact, I studied accents in college. I like to think I’m pretty good at them…at least, the ones I studied. Creole, Cajun, and Creole-Cajun (all different accents) I did not study and am in fact terrible at.

Thibaut’s working on a security drone called Tyke, who has a sort of Superintendent (Halo:ODST) speech pattern, but his auxiliary logic core is overheating and so he rarely says the right thing for what he wants to say, and I unknowingly created a sort of pirate-parrot kind of relationship between Thibaut and Tyke.

Chatting with Thibaut will wind up yielding the option to help him out in fixing Tyke for some karma, and hopefully a chuckle or two. I hate options that are only limited to Drone Control, so I added a few of the rarer-utilized Etiquettes as well.

The rest of the week went into brushing up the receptionist and Assistant Director Cain’s dialogue, and fiddling with the lights on the map. I found out that taking off Fog of War actually, uh, works, and makes a noticeable difference. Who knew? Since the Hightower is, at least at this point, friendly territory, I’m taking off Fog of War, but I have to be doubly vigilant that the skyline then doesn’t bleed out into nothing, and I may need to rebuild the sides of the skyscraper itself to complete the illusion.

Unfortunately, that’s about it for what got done this week. Fortunately, I guess, I set a realistic goal for myself. I wanted the Hightower scene to be 90% done by today, and I feel like that’s about where I got it. It’s ready for final touches, which I’ll apply when I can start linking scenes together. Final touches will consist of making sure the dialogue is all still in sync with the story as a whole, adding some ambient actors that don’t speak, maybe giving one or two props an inspection interaction, and then adding story variable flags and scene transition stuff.

So, let’s talk about the future!

Storyline-wise, I’m in a bit of a pickle. I want a second female lead NPC.

The idea came to me at some point during the week, when I was figuring out what I want to do for this week’s Tuesday deadline. And it intrigues me. As writers, we all get into these habits, right? I have an idea about a female character, as many writers do. As I’m a dude, I’m not even going to pretend like I don’t have subconscious biases and preconceived notions about female characters in storytelling and literature. A second female character would be an immense challenge, because I’d have to distinguish her enough from the character I already have envisioned; I wouldn’t have someone I could lump all things “WOMAN” onto.

I was thinking back to Final Fantasy VII, how you have this juxtaposition between Tifa and Aerith, and how Tifa in her own right broke a lot of conventions by being a martial artist. While these days you can’t get away from the women = healer trope in video games, creating a character like Tifa opens up a world of opportunity along with the significant challenge of splitting one character into two and keeping both of them, well, interesting. Also, it could be one of the few (let’s be real: one of the only) Adept-based NPC crew, though I have to admit that part of me is worried that there’s a good reason why HBS never made an adept crewmate.

The more I think about it, the more I like this idea of a Tifa character. The trouble is I don’t have a backstory for her. With the main NPC + female lieutenant I had already planned for, I know generally who they are, what their interests are, what their relationship to one another is. Adding in this other character feels really challenging and totally out of left field.

The good news is I don’t have to make a final decision now.

My goal for next week is to work on the bar, which will first be seen immediately after the Hightower—assuming the player doesn’t go for the Early End.

I think I finally have an idea in my head as to what it will look like, finished, and it’ll be gloriously New Orleans. Right now, I’m thinking of re-naming it La Maison des Moineaux—”The House of Sparrows”. Perceptive folks will note that’s the name of one very important song in the Hong Kong soundtrack.

I’m just not convinced it’s a great name for a bar/strip club/whorehouse/house of shadows.

